Solving the world’s most pressing problems through open innovation and partnership.


MIT Solve is a marketplace for social impact. We find tech entrepreneurs from around the world and broker partnerships across our community to scale their innovative work—driving lasting, transformational change.

Solve issues four Challenges each year to find the most promising Solver teams with solutions to the world's most pressing problems. Solve then deploys its global community of private, public, and nonprofit leaders to form the partnerships these Solver teams need to scale their impact. 

Solve's cross-sector community has committed more than $7 million in funding to Solver teams, in addition to in-kind support such as mentorship, technical expertise, media and conference exposure, and business and entrepreneurship training.

Meet the solve team

Core Values

    While big challenges exist in the world, they are solvable.
    No one organization, sector or industry can solve these challenges alone.
    Talent and ingenuity are everywhere, and we must tap into them.
    Solutions must start, end, and involve the people they’re designed for.
    Solutions will include a technological component, but must also address political, economic, and cultural barriers and ensure that technology is adopted by most underserved communities.

Solve's Story

We will do more than talk about the greatest problems facing our world. We will set the course to solve them.

—L. Rafael Reif, President, MIT


Noubar Afeyan

Founder, Senior Managing Partner & CEO, Flagship Pioneering

Colin M. Angle

Chairman, CEO & Founder, iRobot

H.S.H. the Prince Henri d’Arenberg

Founder & Chairman, be.Source, a private foundation under Belgian law

Ursula M. Burns

CEO and Chairman, VEON

Eric Cantor

Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Moelis & Company

Wenchi Chen

Chairman & CEO, VIA

Laurene Powell Jobs

Founder and President, Emerson Collective

Linda A. Mason

Leader in Residence, Center for Public Leadership at the Kennedy School, Harvard University

Lubna Olayan

CEO and Deputy Chairman, Olayan Financing Company (OFC)

Terry & Susan Ragon

CEO, Founder, Owner & VP Finance, Administration, Recruitment, InterSystems Corporation

Victoria Ransom

Founder & CEO, Wildfire

Ray A. Rothrock

Chairman & CEO, RedSeal, Inc.

Peter Sands

Executive Director, The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Megan J. Smith

CEO shift7, 3rd U.S. CTO, Entrepreneur, Engineer, shift7

United States

Ratan N. Tata

Chairman, Tata Trusts

to Top