Solve at MIT 2018

Annual Flagship Meeting

Featured Speakers

Ursula M. Burns

CEO and Chairman, VEON

Yo-Yo Ma

Cellist, Curator of the MIT Solve Arts and Culture Mentorship Prize

Eric Schmidt

Technical Advisor and Board Member, Alphabet Inc.


Pina Albo

CEO, Hamilton Insurance Group

Hari Balasubramanian

Managing Director, EcoAdvisors


Doug Banks

Executive Editor, Boston Business Journal

Virginia Bergin Tenpenny

Vice President, Global Social Impact, Starbucks

Matthew Bishop

Managing Director, The Rockefeller Foundation

Malual Bol Kiir

Executive Director, African Youth Action Network

Kimberlynn Cameron

M.S. Civil & Environmental Engineering, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

United States

Kirk Carapezza

Reporter, WGBH

Dr. Cady Coleman

Former Astronaut, NASA

Damon Cox

Assistant Secretary of Technology, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Kevin Delaney

Editor in Chief and Co-President, Quartz

Rana el Kaliouby

CEO, Affectiva

Jessica Espey

Senior Advisor, United Nations Sustainable Development Solutions Network

Dr Paul Falzone

Executive Director, Peripheral Vision International

United States

John Fernández

Professor, Department of Architecture Director, MIT Environmental Solutions Initiative

United States

Elizabeth Frank

Co-Founder, MealFlour

Ina Fried

Chief Technology Correspondent, Axios

Brianna Fruean

Climate Activist, Pacific Climate Warriors, 350 Samoa

Maria Rocio Galarza

Assistant Vice President for US Social Impact, Sesame Workshop

United States

Pape Gaye

President & CEO, IntraHealth International

Sayeh Ghanbari

Partner, EY

Whitney Gray

Senior Vice President, Delos

Christiane Heinicke

Physicist and Engineer, University of Bremen, Center of Applied Space Technology and Microgravity, Crew Member, Hawaii Space Exploration Analog and Simulation Mission IV

Martin Hermann

State Secretary of Development Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark


Phyllis Heydt

Vice President, Office of the U.N. S­pecial Envoy for Health and the Global Health Alliance

Namir Hourani

Managing Director, Global Manufacturing and Industrialisation Summit

Muhamad Iman Usman Mr

Co-Founder/ Chief Product Officer, Ruangguru


Katja Iversen

President and CEO, Women Deliver

Jason Jay

Senior Lecturer, MIT Sloan School of Management, Director, Sustainability Initiative at MIT Sloan

Dean Kamen

President, DEKA Research & Development, Founder, FIRST

Ken Kelzer

Vice President Global Hardware Components and Subsystems, General Motors || Judge for The GM Prize on Good Jobs and Inclusive Entrepreneurship

Eric Klopfer

Professor and Director of the Scheller Teacher Education Program and The Education Arcade, MIT

Dave Krupinski

Co-Founder & Chief Technology Officer,

The Honorable Zachary J. Lemnios

Vice President, Physical Sciences & Government Programs, IBM

Gideon Lichfield

Editor in Chief, MIT Technology Review

Roya Mahboob

CEO, Digital Citizen Fund

Andrea Margit

Partnership and Business Development, Datawheel

United States

Dr. Mallika Marshall

Health Reporter, CBS Boston

Patrick Meier

Chief Executive Officer, Pacific Flying Labs

United States

Carolyn Miles

President and CEO, Save the Children

Helene Molinier

Director of Innovation, UN Women

Luis Alberto Moreno

President, Inter-American Development Bank

Fiona Murray

William Porter Professor of Entrepreneurship and Associate Dean of Innovation, MIT Sloan School of Management; Co-Director, MIT Innovation Initiative

Heidi Nepf

Donald and Martha Harleman Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, MIT

Jay Newton-Small

CEO, MemoryWell

United States

Lisa Nip

Graduate Student, MIT Media Lab

Amira Odeh

Organizer, Caribbean Youth Environment Network

Chandrakant Patel

Chief Engineer and Senior Fellow, HP Inc.

Carlos Pereira

Founder and CEO, Livox

Nancy E. Pfund

Founder and Managing Partner, DBL Partners

The Venerable Tenzin Priyadarshi

Director, Center for Ethics, MIT

Tahera Rahman

Reporter, WHBF-TV

Mark Reading [Old]

Head of Foundation, Atlassian

L. Rafael Reif

President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elisabeth B. Reynolds

Executive Director, MIT Work of the Future Initiative

Rick Ridgeway

VP of Public Engagement, Patagonia

Paul Robinson

Executive Director, RISE || Judge for The RISE Award for Coastal Community Resilience

Iyah Romm

Chief Executive Officer, Cityblock Health

Mona Sarfaty, MD MPH

Director, Medical Society Consortium on Climate and Health

Anjali Sastry

Senior Lecturer, System Dynamics, MIT Sloan School of Management

Reshma Saujani

Founder and CEO, Girls Who Code

Philipp Schmidt

Director of Learning Innovation, MIT Media Lab

Ross Smith

Director, Skype for Good

Miki Sode Ph.D.

Commercial Innovation Program Manager, Center for the Advancement of Science in Space (CASIS)

Panion Tase

Computer Science Teacher, Boston Public Schools

Pita Taufatofua

Olympian, Tonga

Tom Taylor

Senior Vice President, Alexa, Amazon

Jenny Toomey

Director, Internet Freedom, Ford Foundation

Robert Urban PH.D.

Global Head, Johnson & Johnson Innovation, Johnson & Johnson

Arshya Vahabzadeh M.D.

Chief Medical Officer, Brain Power; Innovation Officer, Massachusetts General Hospital Psychiatry Academy

Nicola Watkinson

General Manager, The Americas, Australian Trade and Investment Commission, Deputy Consul-General, Australian Consulate-General (New York)

Raquel Wexler

Mainstreaming Innovation Lead, Office of Global Innovation, UNICEF

Denise Williams

CEO, First Nations Technology Council

Erin Winick

Associate Editor for the Future of Work, MIT Technology Review

Danielle Wood

Professor of Media Arts and Sciences, MIT Media Lab

Manoush Zomorodi

Host and Managing Editor of “Note to Self” Podcast, WNYC Studios

to Top