Solve at MIT 2017

Annual Flagship Meeting

Featured Speakers

Deborah Berebichez

Chief Data Scientist, Discovery Channel TV Host, Metis, Outrageous Acts of Science

Ursula M. Burns

CEO and Chairman, VEON

Ash Carter

25th Secretary of Defense; MIT Innovation Fellow; Director, Belfer Center at the Harvard Kennedy School

Yo-Yo Ma

Cellist, Curator of the MIT Solve Arts and Culture Mentorship Prize

Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw

Chairperson & Managing Director, Biocon Limited

Ernest J. Moniz

MIT Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics and Engineering Systems Emeritus and Special Advisor to the MIT President; Co-chairman of the Board of Directors and CEO, Nuclear Threat Initiative

Deogratias (Deo) Niyizonkiza

Founder & CEO, Village Health Works

L. Rafael Reif

President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Megan Smith

CEO & Founder shift7, Former U.S. Chief Technology Officer, shift7

United States

Marjorie Yang

Chairman, Esquel Group



Co-Founder, Falkora

Besan Abu-Joudeh

Co-Founder & CEO, BuildPalestine

Olajumoke Adenowo

Architect CEO, AD Consulting Limited

Ann Aerts

Head, Novartis Foundation

Noubar Afeyan

Co-Founder and Chairman, Moderna

Fahad Bandar al Saud

Co-Founder, Hello Tomo

Haifa Dia Al-Attia

CEO, Queen Rania Foundation

Mbwana Alliy

Founder and Managing Partner, Savannah Fund

Alex Amouyel

Executive Director, MIT Solve

Jack Andraka

Researcher, Stanford University

Fiona Bayat-Renoux

Senior Advisor & Director of Innovation, UN Women


Pooja Bhalla

Chief Operating Officer, Boston Health Care for the Homeless

Sangeeta Bhatia

John J. and Dorothy Wilson Professor, MIT

Pablo Borquez Schwarzbeck

CEO & Founder, ProducePay Inc.

Rebecca Brachman

Co-Founder, Aision Biotechnologies, Neuroscientist, Columbia University

Rodney Brooks

Founder, Chairman, and CTO, Rethink Robotics

Erik Brynjolfsson

Schussel Family Professor & Director, MIT - Sloan School of Management, MIT - Initiative on the Digital Economy

Aziza Chaouni

Principal & Associate Professor, Aziza Chaouni Projects, University of Toronto

Nick Chedli Carter

Director of Advocacy, VICE Impact

Andrew Chung

Founder & Managing Partner, 1955 Capital

Thierry Déau

Founding Partner & CEO, Meridiam

Robert Desimone

Director, McGovern Institute for Brain Research, MIT

Lisa Dickson

Resilience Leader, Arup

Obi Felten

Head of Getting Moonshots Ready for Contact with the Real World, X

John Fernández

Professor, Department of Architecture Director, MIT Environmental Solutions Initiative

United States

Fereshteh Forough

Founder & CEO, Code to Inspire

Ina Fried

Chief Technology Correspondent, Axios

Anurudh Ganesan

Co-Founder & CEO, Vaccine Innovations Inc.

Nicole Goldin

Senior Advisor (non-resident), Project on Prosperity and Development, CSIS

Kavita Gupta

Founding Managing Partner, ConsenSys

Ravi Gurumurthy

Chief Innovation Officer, International Rescue Committee

Linda Henry

Managing Director, The Boston Globe

Rita Kimani

Co-Founder, FarmDrive

Eric Klopfer

Professor and Director of the Scheller Teacher Education Program and The Education Arcade, MIT


M.S. Vijay Kumar

Executive Director, J-WEL & Associate Dean of Digital Learning, MIT

Raj Kumar

President & Editor-in-Chief, Devex

Kent Larson

Director, City Science Initiative and Changing Places Group, MIT Media Lab

Donna Levin

Entrepreneur in Residence, Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship, Co-Founder,

Oliver Libby

Chair and Co-Founder, The Resolution Project

Ken Mulvany

Director & Founder, BenevolentAI

Brenna Nan Schneider

Founder & CEO, 99Degress

United States

Laxman Narasimhan

Chief Executive Officer, PepsiCo Latin America

Clare O'Connor

Staff Writer, Forbes

Chelina Odbert

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Kounkuey Design Initiative

Max Opgenoord

Team Lead, MIT Hyperloop

Professor Olivier Oullier

Professor of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, Aix-Marseille University


Tracy Palandjian

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Social Finance

Jason Pontin

CEO, Editor in Chief, and Publisher, MIT Technology Review

Elizabeth Roscoe

Executive Director, Western Union Foundation

Sanjay Sarma

Vice President for Open Learning, MIT

Martin Schmidt

Provost, MIT

Philipp Schmidt

Director of Learning Innovation, MIT Media Lab

Mariela G. Shaker

Syrian Violinist and Advocate

E. Denise Simmons

Mayor, City of Cambridge

Dr. Jeffrey Sturchio

President & CEO, Rabin Martin

Elsa Sze

Founder and CEO, Agora


Paul Varghese

Head, Health Informatics, Verily (Google Life Sciences)

Ian A. Waitz

Dean, School of Engineering, MIT

Doug Warner

Vice President and Global Head of Tech Vision and Strategy, HP Inc.

Ryan Whalen

Director, Initiatives and Strategy, The Rockefeller Foundation


Gail Anderson

Founder, rPartners

United States

Dr. Gavin Armstrong

Founder & CEO, Lucky Iron Fish


Hila Azadzoy

Head of Academics, Kiron Open Higher Education

Lucrezia Bisignani

Founder & CEO, Kukua

Simon Black

Frank Knox Fellow, Harvard University

United States

Rama Chakaki


United States

Ed Cullinan

Senior Engineer, Research and Innovation, ATCO Pipelines and Liquids


Diego Espinosa

CEO, healthcoin

Tim Fitzgerald

CEO, ForeLight Inc.

Malena Gonzalez

Co-Founder, NutriCount Inc.

United States

Mike Hands

Founder & Director, Inga Foundation

United Kingdom

Antti Kangas

Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Nightingale Health

Abhinav Khare

Graduate Research Assistant, University at Buffalo

United States

Kyle Kornack

Executive Director, Global Citizens Imperative

United States

Kevin Kung

PhD Student, Engineering, MIT, Safi Organics

United States

Herman Marin

Co-Founder & CTO, Laboratoria

Mohsin Mohi Ud Din

Founder, #MeWe International

United States

Brenna Nan Schneider

Founder & CEO, 99Degress

United States

Ella Peinovich

Founder, Soko


Liisa Petrykowska

Founder and Managing Partner, Ignitia


Shailesh Prithani

Co-Founder & CEO, Doxper


Richard R. Rowe Ph.D.

Founder & CEO, Open Learning Exchange, Inc.

United States

Augusto Ruiz-Tagle

Co-Founder, Destacame


Chrystina Russell

Vice President for Global Engagement, Southern New Hampshire University

United States

Teemu Suna

CEO & Co-Founder, Nightingale Health Ltd.


Belle Sweeney

Executive Director, The SchoolBox Project

Dr. Reza Yavari

Board Certified Endocrinologist, Founder & CEO, Beyond Care

United States

Nirinjan Yee

CEO, BreathResearch

United States

Katie Zaniboni

Founder, Team Up 2 Teach

United States

to Top